Pastor S. O. Oladele

The administrative machinery of Christ Apostolic Church since the inception revolves round a tripod. This tripod consists of the president, the general superintendent and the general evangelist. These were for many years regarded as the church’s principal officers but as the years rolled by developments have made expansion of the tripod to include the general secretary and the treasurer, the role now known as finance director.

In the early days of the church, the president, who is the overall head and the spiritual father of the church, was based in Ibadan. At the incorporation of the church, the spiritual head of the church was Pastor Isaac Babalola Akinyele. He had been president of the church long before his enthronement as the Olubadan of Ibadan land. The general superintendent in the person of Pastor David O. Odubanjo was based in Lagos. The general evangelist, Apostle Joseph Ayo Babalola was based in Efon Alaye.

Although the address for incorporation of the church is Ebute Elefun, Lagos, the seat of administration is in Ibadan. The policy making organ of the church known as the general executive council is headed by the president. The president is the highest officer of the church. He is also the overall head of the church and the chairman of the church’s board of trustees. Although the president is the head of the church, his official title remains pastor because it is the highest spiritual calling for all ordained ministers in Christ Apostolic Church.

The president administers the church, carrying out the policy formulated by the general executive council (GEC). The GEC is the highest decision making body in Christ Apostolic Church. The president is the head of the GEC, which meets periodically to formulate policy directive for the Church. The President is also the chairman of the general council. This council is made up of representatives of all Christ Apostolic Church districts all over the world. Although occasions may arise where the general council would be summoned to meet at any time within the year, the general council generally meets on a yearly basis.

The president, as the spiritual head of the church, is the God’s spokesperson to the entire church and even the world at large. His word carries the authority as the representative of God. He is the declarer of the doctrines laid down by the founding fathers of the church.

The president is the highest executive officer of the church. All special or regular committees are constituted by him and they report to him. All other church officers, especially the principal officers, report to him. He also may consult anybody and groups for advice. But he takes the final decision on any issues affecting the church.

The president of the church is appointed into the office through intensive prayers and fasting of the members of the general executive council and church members in general. The person to be appointed into the office of the president must have served for not less than fifteen years as a minister in the church and must have held an office not below the rank of general superintendent of the mission. He must also be a full time minister in the church.

Those who have served in this office since the inception of the church are:

  • Pastor Isaac Babalola Akinyele: he served the church from its incorporation in 1943 to 1964.
  • Pastor Jacob Soyege Bartholomew Odusona: he succeeded Pastor Akinyele and ruled for just two years from 1964 to 1966.
  • Pastor Elijah Titus Latunde: he presided over the affairs of the church from 1966 to 1983.
  • Pastor Latunde: Although, he had served the church as the vice president under Pastor Soyege Bartholomew Odusona, he was one of the two persons who served in this office without having been a general superintendent.
  • Pastor J.D. Obafemi: was the only second person who ascended to the office of president without having served as general superintendent.
  • Pastor Joseph Bolade Orogun: he was appointed president to succeed Pastor Latunde in 1983. He was in charge until 1991 when the church implemented the GEC decision to retire officers who were old. He, thus, went on retirement in 1991. There was an interim administration headed by Pastor E.A. Faniyan between 1991 and June 1993.
  • Pastor John Dada Obafemi: he was appointed in 1993 as the president of the church and he retired in 1997.
  • Pastor Elijah Howard Lajuwomi Olusheye: he stepped up into the office of president after Pastor Obafemi’s retirement. Olusheye, thereafter, ruled the church from 1997 to December 2011.
  • Pastor Abraham Olukunle Akinosun: succeeded Pastor EHL Olusheye as the President and ruled the church from 2012 to 2020.
  • Pastor Samuel Olusegun Oladele: he is the incumbent President and ascended to the position of the President in 2021.
CAC Daily Devotional Guide The Living Water
CAC Sunday School Department
News and Events
CAC History

General Executive Council

The general executive council (GEC) is the highest ruling body of the church. It is saddled with the appointment of church officers, especially the president, the general superintendent, the general evangelist, the general secretary and the finance director, including the church’s trustees and special standing committees. All other relevant officers of the church derive their authority from the GEC.

By the 1998 constitution of the church, the entire members of the GEC are 90. This is made up of 60 pastors and 30 elders. At a stage in the life of the church, the name of the highest ruling body was changed to supreme council. This supreme council was made up of pastors only but as time went on the presbyterian system of church governance was adopted and the name was changed back to the general executive council. That is the body that now holds sway in the affairs of Christ Apostolic Church today.